Best Practices Header - Image of ripples with groupings of people

Case Studies: Best Practices & Lessons learned

The Competency-Based Education Consortium has collected narratives about the CBE journey of institutions in Texas and beyond. While there is no one best practice for anything, it is useful to learn from the experiences of those who have successfully walked down this path before. In the case studies presented here, the subject matter experts expound on the best practices for setting up, sustaining, and scaling up a competency-based education program.

Click on the images below to view our case studies.

Eric Roe Image

Eric Roe, Ph.D


Executive Director

The University of Texas at Austin
Cockrell School of Engineering
Center for Lifelong Engineering Education

eric.roe@utexas.edu

Mary Hendrix, Ph.D


Vice President

Student Access and Success
Texas A&M University-Commerce

mary.hendrix@tamuc.edu

Judith A. Sebesta, Ph.D


Executive Director

Institute for Competency-Based Education
Texas A&M University-Commerce

judith.sebesta@tamuc.edu

Carlos Rivers Image

Carlos Rivers, M.B.A


Operations Research Analyst

Institute for Competency-Based Education
Housed at:
Texas A&M University
Commerce Texas

carlos.rivers@tamuc.edu

Nancy Thibeault, Ph.D


Dean, eLearning
Project Director,
Accelerate IT

Sinclair Community College

nancy.thibeault@sinclair.edu

Donna Smith Image

Donna Smith, Ph.D


Program Director and Instructor

BAAS
Organizational Leadership
Texas A&M University Commerce

donna.smith@tamuc.edu

Sam Greer, PH.D


Director

Employer Outreach & Experiential Learning Programs
Austin Community College District

samuel.greer@austincc.edu

Linda Smarzik, M.S.


Dean Computer Studies & Advanced Technology

Austin Community College

lsmarzik@austincc.edu

Tammi Cooper, Ph.D


Executive Director at Fidelis Education

Formerly:
Vice President for Innovation & Associate Provost
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
tcooper@fidelis-inc.com

Judy Arriaga, M.B.A


Student Support Specialist

Accelerated Programer Training
Austin Community College

judy.arriaga@austincc.edu

Rene Polanco, M.S.


Professor

Computer Information Systems
Austin Community College

rpolanco@austincc.edu

William Tucker, M.B.A.


Adjunct Professor

Computer Information Systems
Austin Community College

wtucker@austincc.edu

Ninghua Han, Ph.D


Instructional Design Specialist

Austin Community College District

ninghua.han@austincc.edu

Chris Burns, B.A


Multi-media Developer

Austin Community College District

cburns@austincc.edu