2015 Balcones Poetry Prize awarded to What About This: Collected Poems of Frank Stanford (Copper Canyon Press), edited by Michael Wiegers

Frank Stanford
Frank Stanford, 1973

Frank Stanford was born in August 1948 and died by his own hand in June 1978. Yet in his short life he produced an astonishing amount of poetry—the present volume contains more than 700 pages of verse. Stanford’s poetry was published in literary journals and small presses and has remained obscure, although he has had potent influence on those who know his work.

Born in Mississippi, Stanford grew up in Memphis and Arkansas, attending the University of Arkansas, and lived in Missouri and New Orleans as well. He published seven books of poetry during his life, including The Battlefield Where the Moon Says I Love You, a passionate yet carefully crafted outpouring of over 15,000 lines.

Michael Wiegers
Michael Wiegers at the Sewanee Writers Conference, 2014.

Of Stanford’s poetry, the judges said, “Frank Stanford wrote as fiercely as he lived. He is a master storyteller, and his images from rural Arkansas never fail to surprise.” His “poems seem to be written by someone very old, someone or something who has lived and thought and suffered…as old as the earth itself, and as wise, and as deadly. Yet the poems never seem dated or archaic.” His “work is distinctly Southern, distinctly rural, yet…crafted with such mastery as to transcend regionalism. The soul, the voice of these poems, is simultaneously his own, and yet universal.”

Michael Wiegers is poetry editor of Narrative Magazine and executive editor of Copper Canyon Press. His previous titles include This Art, The Poet’s Child and Reversible Monuments: Contemporary Mexican Poetry (co-edited with Monica de la Torre).

Four finalists were also named:

  • Forest Primeval, Vievee Francis (TriQuarterly Books)
  • Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude, Ross Gay (University of Pittsburgh Press)
  • Lighting the Shadow, Rachel Eliza Griffiths (Four Way Books)
  • Crow-Work, Eric Pankey (Milkweed Editions)

The judges for the 2015 prize were Joseph Ahearn, a poet and professor at Austin Community College; Ken Fontenot, a poet and novelist who lives in Austin; and Allyson Whipple, a poet and professor at Austin Community College.

Former winners of the Balcones Poetry Prize:

  • Once in the West, Michael Wiman, 2014
  • Interrobang, Jessica Piazza, 2013
  • When My Brother Was an Aztec, Natalie Diaz, 2012
  • Bone Fires, Mark Jarmon, 2011
  • Horses Where the Answers Should Have Been, Chase Twichell, 2010
  • Portrait and Dream, Bill Berkson, 2009
  • Dismantling the Hills, Michael McGriff, 2008
  • At the Drive-In Volcano, Aimee Nezhukumatahil, 2007
  • Drive, Lorna Dee Cervantes, 2006
  • No Accident, Aaron Anstett, 2005
  • Dancing on Main Street, Lorenzo Thomas, 2004
  • Bread Without Sorrow, John Hogden, 2002
  • Short History of Pets, Carol Potter, 2001
  • In the Surgical Theatre, Dana Levin, 2000
  • The Red-Shifting Web, Arthur Sze, 1999
  • Sparrow: New and Selected Poems, Reginald Gibbons, 1997
  • The Body Mutinies, Lucia Perillo, 1996
  • Every Substance Clothed, Kathleen Halme, 1995

Nominations for the 2016 prize will be accepted from Septemer 1, 2016 to January 31, 2017.

For more information: John Herndon, Austin Community College, 1212 Rio Grande Street, Austin, Texas 78701. jherndon@austincc.edu, sites.austincc.edu/crw.