ACC begins transition to new online tools for students

Austin Community College advisors and counselors can now try out the new online tools ACC students will begin using this fall to manage their college experience.

ACC is replacing the WebAdvisor tool with next-generation online tools from Ellucian. Students will use the Ellucian Colleague Self-Service applications to create course schedules, register for classes, manage financial aid, view grades, track degree progress, and receive notifications. Students and advisors will continue to use the Degree Map planning tool to make academic plans and compare degree options.

Between now and mid-October ACC advisors, counselors, and other student services staff will learn the various Self-Service applications so they will be familiar with the tool when it is rolled out to students. Training for all faculty and staff also will be offered this fall; however, anyone who wants to try out the tool can access it through the Self-Service (selfservice.austincc.edu) login page using their ACCeID and password.

Self-Service features

The Self-Service tool encompasses modules that allow students to plan and register for classes (Student Planning), view their financial aid, pay their tuition (Student Finance), and receive important notifications, such as holds on their account:

selfserv0815-blur

After logging on, students will select from modules for planning and registering for classes, viewing their financial aid, and paying their tuition.

stuplan0815cr

Students will use the Student Planning application to schedule and register for classes. Notifications are in red.

finaidselfserv0815cr

Students will use the system to manage their financial aid.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Student testers who recently tried out the tool gave it positive reviews. One tester wrote, “I was really impressed. … It was so easy and I can finally do things on my own.”

Eventually students will access the Self-Service modules through an online portal that also will include links to Degree Map, Blackboard, and other information and tasks currently accessed through Online Services. The IT department expects to begin replacing the current Online Services with the new portal in spring.

More information about Self-Service and training sessions for faculty and staff will be communicated in the coming weeks. WebAdvisor and the Self-Service will run in parallel during the transition.

Meanwhile, designated contacts on each campus (below) can answer questions about either the Self-Service or Degree Map tools.

Self-Service/Degree Map campus contacts

Campus Name and contact information
Cypress Creek Elnita Fennell: efennell@austincc.edu or 512-223-2107
Elgin Patricia Sanchez: patricia.sanchez@austincc.edu or 512-223.9415
Eastview David Zuniga: dzuniga@austincc.edu or 512-223-5795
Hays Alegra Harris: alegra.harris@austincc.edu or 512-262-6530
Highland Campus Kathy James: kjames@austincc.edu or 512-223-7327
Highland Business Center Mison Zuniga: mzuniga@austincc.edu or 512-223-7352
Northridge Mario Tenorio mtenorio@austincc.edu or 512-223-4706
Pinnacle Jim Boullosa: jboullos@austincc.edu or 512-223-8094
Riverside Edgar Granillo: egranill@austincc.edu or 512-223-6012
Rio Grande Jorge Lynch: jlynch@austincc.edu or 512-223-3130
Round Rock John Wooten: jwooten1@austincc.edu or 512-223-0038
South Austin Margarita Sandoval-Samilpa: msamilpa@austincc.edu or 512-223-9164
San Marcos Goodnight Center Dana Washington: dwashin1@austincc.edu 512-223-9802

Tags: , ,

Back to Top