Luggage drive for foster care alumni underway; donate by May 5

Here’s a relatively simple way to show a little love for new and future Riverbats: Donate to Austin Community College’s annual luggage drive benefiting students transitioning from foster care.

Faculty, staff, and students are invited to donate pieces of luggage for teens who are graduating from high school and leaving foster residences. Monetary donations also are accepted.

“The ACC community’s support of our annual luggage drive has a direct impact on graduating foster care youth,” says Steven Christopher, executive director of special populations. “Helping these young adults start a new chapter in their lives with something other than a plastic bag for their belongings is an easy way to make a difference.”

ACC has collected 271 pieces of luggage and $3,745 for foster care alumni students since its first luggage drive in 2009.

Donations are requested by May 5. There are three ways to donate:

  • Drop off new luggage (carry-on, rolling duffels are preferred) with one of the campus representatives listed below or with the ACC Police Department.
  • Donate funds online (credit/debit card) through ACC Marketplace.
  • Donate by cash, check, or credit card at any campus Cashier Office.

Foster Care luggage drive campus representatives

Campus Name Phone Email
Cypress Marshall Bennett 512-223-2205 cbennet3@austincc.edu
Eastview Jennifer Vasquez 512-223-5214 jennifer.vasquez@austincc.edu
Elgin Teri Villegas-Shipman 512-223-9482 teriv@austincc.edu
Hays Alegra Harris 512-262-6530 alegra.harris@austincc.edu
Highland Roseana Lahti 512-223-7344 rlahti@austincc.edu
Northridge Lauren Gage 512-223-4845 lgage@austincc.edu
Pinnacle Joyce Pope-Cain 512-223-8111 jpcain@austincc.edu
Riverside Eriko Tyner 512-223-6026 eriko.tyner@austincc.edu
Round Rock Stephanie Horgan 512-223-0032 shorgan@austincc.edu
South Austin Michael Gibbs 512-223-9161 michael.gibbs@austincc.edu

Learn about ACC’s Foster Care Student Program.

Tags: ,

Back to Top

2 Responses to "Luggage drive for foster care alumni underway; donate by May 5"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*