Licensing Requirements and Costs

TREC is located on the 4th floor of the Stephen F. Austin State Office Building

 

Texas has only two real estate licenses: a Broker license and a Sales license. If you hold either license you can perform all real estate activities for which a license is required. The difference between the two licenses is that a holder of a sales license can only perform real estate activities under the sponsorship (and supervision) of someone who holds a broker license.

In Texas, you must be at least 18 years of age, a Texas resident, demonstrate integrity, satisfy the educational requirements described below, and pass a state examination to receive a license, which is administered by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC).

Texas House Bill HB 1508 - For students in Real Estate courses who may have a criminal background, please be advised that the background could keep you from being licensed by the State of Texas.  If you have a question about your background and licensure, please speak with your faculty member or the department chair. You also have the right to request a criminal history evaluation letter from the applicable licensing agency.

You must complete Qualifying Education for Real Estate Sales Agent or Individual Real Estate Broker, where the courses and institution are certified by TREC. Students are encouraged to consult with TREC for the lists of Qualifying Education Providers and Qualifying Continuing Education Providers. ACC is a certified College to offer Qualifying Education and below are the certification letters for those courses:

RELE 1200 - Real Estate Contract Forms and Addenda (2-2-0)

RELE 1201 - Principles of Real Estate (2-2-0)

RELE 1211 - Law of Contracts (2-2-0)

RELE 1215 - Property Management (2-2-0) and RELE 1315 - Property Management (3-3-0)

RELE 1219 - Real Estate Finance (2-2-0) and RELE 1319 - Real Estate Finance (3-3-0)

RELE 1225 - Real Estate Mathematics (2-2-0) and RELE 1325 - Real Estate Mathematics (3-3-0)

RELE 1238 - Principles of Real Estate II (2-2-0)

RELE 1321 - Real Estate Marketing (3-3-0)

RELE 1406 - Real Estate Principles (4-4-0) - Combined of RELE 1201 - Principles of Real Estate (2-2-0) and RELE 1238 - Principles of Real Estate II (2-2-0)

RELE 2201 - Law of Agency (2-2-0) and RELE 2301 - Law of Agency (3-3-0)

RELE 2331 - Real Estate Brokerage (3-3-0)

Sales License

A minimum of 180 classroom hours of Real Estate instruction, comprising of the following five mandatory courses, is required to sit for the Texas Real Estate Sales Licensing Exam. To earn credit, you must attend 90% of the class hours and take the required exams.

If you are an in-district student, the tuition and fees will be

RELE 1406 - Principles of Real Estate (Combined of RELE 1201 - Principles of Real Estate and RELE 1238 - Principles of Real Estate II)  - $340.00

RELE 2201 - Law of Agency $170.00

RELE 1211 - Law of Contracts - $170.00

RELE 1200 - Real Estate Contract Forms and Addenda (TREC Promulgated Contracts) - $170.00

RELE 1219 - Real Estate Finance$170.00

That's $1020.00 total in tuition and fees

Note - The above amount is for tuition and fees and does NOT include the costs of books.

Students must purchase books for these courses separately.

Again, these five mandatory courses will give you the knowledge to pass the TREC exam.

For complete details, refer to TREC's Become a Real Estate Sales Agent.

As a Real Estate Sales Agent, you must renew your license every two years.

Broker License

Students must complete 270 classroom hours of qualifying real estate courses, including the following mandatory courses:

  • RELE 1406 - Principles of Real Estate (Combined of RELE 1201 - Principles of Real Estate and RELE 1238 - Principles of Real Estate II)
  • RELE 2201 - Law of Agency
  • RELE 1211 - Law of Contracts
  • RELE 1200 - Real Estate Contract Forms and Addenda (TREC Promulgated Contracts)
  • RELE 1219 - Real Estate Finance
  • RELE 2331 - Real Estate Brokerage

The RELE 2331 - Real Estate Brokerage course must be completed not more than two years before the application date.

An additional 630 classroom hours in related qualifying courses acceptable to the Commission or approved Continuing Education (CE) courses. A bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university satisfies all of the related education requirements for a broker license. A copy of the college transcript awarding the degree must be submitted as evidence of completion of the degree.

Candidates for a broker license must also meet the following experience requirements:

  • Have at least four years’ active experience as a licensed real estate sales agent or broker during the 60-month period preceding the filing of the application
  • Your experience must total 3600 points and be reported on the Qualifying Experience Report for a Broker License. You must also include a transaction identification list for each transaction claimed on the experience report.

For complete details, refer to TREC's Become an Individual Real Estate Broker.

As a Real Estate Broker, you must renew your license every two years.

Tuition and Fees

For more information on tuition and fees, please visit

http://www.austincc.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/tuition-and-fees-chart