ACC Newsmakers

Austin, TX – May 23, 2006

The National Republican Congressional Committee recently awarded Alex Matthews, ACC Massage Therapy coordinator, with the National Leadership Award for his work on massage therapy issues during the last Texas legislative regular session.

On May 13, ACC District voters chose incumbent Allen Kaplan over challenger Ana Mejia-Dietche in the Place 9 race for ACC Board of Trustees. In Place 8, St. Edward’s University Computer Science Professor Dr. James McGuffee proved victorious over American Cancer Society Government Relations Director Rodney Ahart. Dr. Barbara Mink, who ran unopposed in Place 7, will serve the ACC Board for another 6-year term.

Kaplan was also elected as the new State Chair of Texas by the Association of Community College Trustees. He has served on the ACC Board for 12 years.

Sharon Beynon, ACC adjunct faculty instructor in English and Developmental Communications, has been selected to participate in two Landmarks of American History and Culture workshops this summer through the National Endowment for the Humanities Grant.

Dr. Julie Todaro, dean of library services, was elected vice president/president-elect of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). She will assume office following the 2006 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in New Orleans.

ACC was recognized as “Employer of the Year” by the Austin Chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) for educational opportunities offered by the ACC Office of Internal Audit.


Back to Top