ACC Voters decide two board trustees; runoff set for Place 2

ACC District voters decided two of the three Austin Community College District Board of Trustees seats on the ballot, with a third to be determined in a runoff election next month.

Voters elected Mark Williams for Place 1 over incumbent Tim Mahoney. Williams is a former member of the Austin Independent School District Board of Trustees. Mahoney, an attorney, community lawyer, and trained mediator, was first elected to the board in 2008.

The Place 2 seat will be decided in a December 16 runoff between Jade Chang Sheppard & Gigi Edwards Bryant. No candidate secured the 50 percent plus one vote required to win. Sheppard is an Austin entrepreneur who served as vice chair of finance for the Texas Democratic Party and on the board of directors at the Austin Children’s Shelter and the Asian-American Resource Center. Bryant is an ACC Foundation board member and serves on the advisory council of the Texas Department of Family Services.

Place 3 incumbent Nan McRaven was re-elected to the board for a third term. The public affairs consultant, who joined the board in 2002, ran unopposed.

Here are the complete results:

Place 1

Tim Mahoney – Â 47 percent

Mark Williams – 53 percent

Place 2

Jade Chang Sheppard- Â Â 26 percent

Gigi Edwards Bryant- Â Â Â 31 percent

Bob Allen – Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â 19 percent

Jonathan G. Mathers- Â Â Â Â 10 percent

Michael J. Lewis- Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â 10 percent

Robert (Robb) J. Misso – 4 percent

Place 3

Nan McRaven – unopposed

Board members serve staggered six-year terms and are elected at large by registered voters who live within the ACC District.

Comprehensive runoff results will be available on the ACC External Affairs webpage, Individual county results will be available through county election websites.

Back to Top