ACC Board seats newly elected trustees and appoints officers

The Austin Community College Board of Trustees held its first meeting with three newly elected trustees Tuesday, January 20.

State Sen. Kirk Watson held the honor of swearing in Gigi Edwards Bryant, who was elected to the board in December’s run-off election. She replaces outgoing Place 2 Trustee John Michael Cortez.

Bryant joins newly elected Trustee Mark Williams and incumbent Nan McRaven, who secured their seats in November’s general election. Williams, who replaces Tim Mahoney in Place 1, and McRaven, who ran unopposed in Place 3, were sworn in during the board’s December meeting.

On Tuesday, the newly seated board appointed new officers naming Dr. Victor Villarreal as chair, Allen Kaplan as vice chair, and Dr. Barbara Mink as secretary.

For more information about the Austin Community College Board of Trustees, including meeting schedules, agendas and minutes, visit

Back to Top