Board of Trustees briefs: Campus carry resolution; bond oversight committee

At its March 2 regular session, the Austin Community College District Board of Trustees unanimously approved resolutions regarding guns on campus and in-state tuition for undocumented students.

State lawmakers currently are considering legislation (Senate Bill 11) that would allow licensed handgun holders to carry guns on campus.

Trustees approved a resolution opposing guns on campus noting, among other things, that early college high school students as young as 14 are on ACC campuses. The resolution further states that the college operates a child care center at the Eastview Campus and plans to provide child care at other campuses when possible.

Those united in opposing weapons on campus include ACC District Police Chief Lynn Dixon, ACC President/CEO Dr. Richard Rhodes, Austin Police Chief Art Acevedo, and University of Texas System Chancellor William McRaven, according to the resolution.

The resolution requests that institutions be allowed to opt out of legislation permitting guns on campuses, should it pass.

Trustees also approved a resolution supporting in-state tuition for undocumented immigrants. The resolution states that Texas educational institutions would lose tens of millions of dollars and the state’s economy would lose even more if students are denied incentives offered through the Texas Dream Act.

The board is urging lawmakers to give institutions local control over the issue if state law rescinds in-state tuition for undocumented students.

Bond oversight committee

At its February 16 work session, trustees finalized appointments to a citizens’ advisory committee that will oversee projects in the bond referendum approved by voters in November.

Committee co-chairs are Terry Mazurek, president of Buda First State Bank of Central Texas, and Eric Zeno, development manager for the city of Leander. Other members are:

  • Jesus Chavez, retired superintendent, Round Rock ISD
  • David Glass, president, Silverado Business Systems
  • Joene Grissom, president, Grissom & Associates Public Relations/Marketing firm
  • John Hernandez, John Hernandez Real Estate Services
  • Dan Listrom, commercial real estate professional
  • Sid Sokol, commissioner, City of Leander
  • Ellen Skoviera, retired chief financial officer, Leander ISD
  • Martha Smiley, attorney, Enoch Kever, PLLC
  • Erica Solis, financial analyst, El Buen Samaritano Episcopal Mission
  • Robert Thomas, attorney
  • Dr. Steve Yau, product development specialist, 3M Electrical Market Division

To view meeting agendas and minutes, visit the Board Meetings Records webpage. To view a video of the proceedings, go to the Board Meetings Audio & Video Recordings webpage.

Back to Top