Submit teaching, leadership award nominations by Nov. 6

Nominations for annual teaching and leadership awards are being accepted through Friday, November 6.

ACC Teaching Excellence award

Students, faculty, and staff are invited to nominate full-time or adjunct faculty members for the Teaching Excellence award. The award honors faculty who promote special learning opportunities, student interaction, and innovation. Also considered are depth and breadth of knowledge in their subject area and a profound teaching philosophy. Recipients receive a $1,000 cash award.

Access the Teaching Excellence award nomination form.

ACC Leadership awards

The ACC Leadership Awards recognize individuals in various employment categories for their outstanding leadership and commitment to going above and beyond on behalf of their department or the college. Nominations are accepted for these categories:

  • Classified Employee of the Year
  • Professional-Technical Employee of the Year
  • Administrator of the Year
  • NEW: Faculty Leader of the Year

Recipients are selected based on the content of the nomination, rather than the number of nominations received. Winners will be recognized at a Board of Trustees meeting and at an awards dinner in the spring. They also will have a reserved parking space at their campus for one year.

Visit the Teaching and Leadership awards website to see award criteria. Access a nomination form here.

Interested in seeing who has been honored in previous years? View a list of previous ACC award recipients.

Piper Professor

Note: Nomination deadline is Friday, October 30.

Academic department chairs and deans may nominate faculty members to be considered as ACC’s nominee for the Piper Professor award given by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation. The foundation honors 10 professors statewide for their outstanding academic, scientific, and scholarly achievement and their dedication to the teaching profession. Piper professors receive a of $5,000 honorarium.

For details, visit the Awards information webpage. Nominees must give permission to be nominated.

U.S. Professor of the Year

Sponsored by CASE (Council for Advancement and Support of Education) and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, the U.S. Professor the the Year recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring. Nominations are accepted in the spring. To learn about the nomination process, visit the U.S. Professors of the Year Nominations webpage.

Contact Faculty Development at 512-223-7582 or [email protected] for information about the awards.

Tags: ,

Back to Top