Donate to luggage drive for foster care alumni by May 6

luggagedriveposter16cIt’s time for Austin Community College’s annual luggage drive benefiting students transitioning from foster care.

Faculty, staff, and students are invited to donate luggage for teens who are graduating from high school and leaving foster residences. Monetary donations also are accepted.

“Have you ever seen a young person walking down the street with everything they have in a large garbage bag?,” says Steven Christopher, executive director of special populations. “Likely this is a displaced foster care youth. The ACC community’s support of our annual luggage drive will have a direct impact on graduating foster care youth.”

Since its inaugural luggage drive in 2009, ACC has collected 242 pieces of luggage and $3,170 to support foster care alumni students.

Donations are requested by May 6. There are three ways to donate:

  • Drop off new luggage (carry-on, rolling duffels are preferred) with one of the campus representatives listed below or with the ACC Police Department.
  • Donate funds online (credit/debit card) through ACC Marketplace.
  • Donate by cash, check, or credit card at any campus Cashier Office.

Foster Care luggage drive campus representatives

Campus Name Phone Email
Cypress Marshall Bennett 512-223-2205 cbennet3@austincc.edu
Eastview Angelica Cancino 512-223-5214 acancino@austincc.edu
Elgin Patricia Sanchez 512-223-9415 patricia.sanchez@austincc.edu
Hays Alegra Harris 512-262-6530 alegra.harris@austincc.edu
Highland Roseana Lahti 512-223-7344 rlahti@austincc.edu
Northridge Lauren Gage 512-223-4845 lgage@austincc.edu
Pinnacle Joyce Pope-Cain 512-223-8111 jpcain@austincc.edu
Riverside Eriko Tyner 512-223-6026 Eriko.tyner@austincc.edu
Round Rock Stephanie Horgan 512-223-0032 shorgan@austincc.edu
South Austin Michael Gibbs 512-223-9161 michael.gibbs@austincc.edu

 

Learn about ACC’s Foster Care Alumni Program.

Tags: ,

Back to Top