ACC voters elect new trustees in runoff election

Sean Hassan and Julie Ann Nitsch won Tuesday’s runoff election for Place 4 and 9 respectively on the Austin Community College District Board of Trustees.

Courtesy: Sean Hassan Campaign

Courtesy: Sean Hassan Campaign

Hassan, 37, is the owner of a childcare and early childhood education center. He also has served as vice president with a Boys & Girls Clubs chapter that focused its programs on introducing science, technology, engineering, and math and early literacy to low-income, Latino youth.

Nitsch, 31, is a political activist and former ACC student and employee. She faced former ACC Trustee Guadalupe Sosa in the runoff and will serve the remaining two years in the Place 9 term of Allen Kaplan, who resigned from the ACC board last summer.

Here are the complete unofficial results:

Place 4

  • Hassan – 16,550 votes (65 percent)
  • Lewis – 9,076 votes (35 percent)


Place 9

  • Nitsch – 15,593 (61 percent)
  • Sosa – 9,963 (39 percent)

Courtesy: Julie Ann Nitsch Campaign

Courtesy: Julie Ann Nitsch Campaign

Hassan and Nitsch join the board’s other newly elected trustees, Nicole Eversmann for Place 5 and Nora DeHoyos Comstock for Place 6, who each secured their seats in November’s general election and were sworn in to office in December’s board meeting. Hassan and Nitsch will take office in the January board meeting.

Trustees serve six-year terms and are elected at-large by registered voters who live within the ACC District, which includes the City of Austin as well as the Austin, Leander, Manor, Del Valle, Round Rock, Elgin, and Hays school districts.

Comprehensive runoff results will be available on the ACC Elections website. Individual county results will be available through county election websites.

Tags: , ,

Back to Top