512.223.7750 FCTL@austincc.edu

Who We Are

Michelle Fitzpatrick, MHM

Michelle Fitzpatrick, MHM

Assistant Dean of Faculty Development

“All of our dreams come true if we have the courage to pursue them.  -Walt Disney”

Started with ACC in 2010 and served as the Department Chair of Hospitality, Meeting & Event Planning and Tourism for 8 years. Michelle discovered her passion for hotel operations, training and development very early in her professional career. While serving as Department Chair Michelle has participated in many faculty development training opportunities, finding a great deal of support and inspiration from fellow faculty. She is excited to share her passion of active and collaborative teaching and learning with other faculty in this role.

Michelle lives with her husband Sean, their daughter, son and two rescue dogs. They enjoy traveling, spending time with family, watching live music and trying to keep up with the Austin foodie scene.

Ph: 512.223.7750
Email: michelle.fitzpatrick@austincc.edu
Office: HBC 604.9

Missi Patterson, PhD

Missi Patterson, PhD

Professor of Psychology and Project ACC Manager

As the manager of Project ACC, I am tasked with leading each cohort of the PACC Faculty Fellows through a year-long program exploring Active and Engaged Teaching. We meet monthly, and I help as the Fellows research teaching methods, pilot them in their classes, and present a week-long Summer Institute on Active and Engaged Teaching. I am so grateful for the opportunity to work with and learn from so many amazing teaching colleagues.

In the past, I was the founding director of the FCTL in my capacity as Assistant Dean of Faculty Development. From 2014 through 2018, I had the great honor to work with the Faculty Center Advisory Group (FCAG) and countless faculty to create faculty-led opportunities for development. During my tenure, we presented monthly reports of our activities to all ACC faculty. We did regular surveys about what development opportunities faculty wanted and how participating helped them with their teaching. We began a whole host of events and activities for faculty, including the New Faculty Seminar and Faculty Connection Series, the FCTL Faculty Riverboat Cruise, Project ACC, the FCTL Faculty Forum Blog, Departmental Collaborations, Faculty Consultations, the Student Graffiti Project, Faculty Learning Communities and Faculty Interest Groups, Assignment Charrettes, hosted a Visiting Scholar, held Chalk Talks / Stammtisch, Computerside Chats and the Lilly Conference Scholarship program. All of our programs were opportunities for faculty to connect with and learn from other faculty.

I strongly believe that working with the FCTL is an important part of every faculty member’s development. We are able to improve our craft of teaching when we learn from each other, and at the same time, we model the joy of lifelong learning to our students. I encourage faculty to get involved with the FCTL. It is OUR center, and will be made stronger by full faculty participation.

Phone: 512-223-7043
Email: mpatters@austincc.edu
Office: HLC 4.2310.30

Faculty Center Advisory Group (Current Members)

Faculty Center Advisory Group is a collaborative effort of faculty members who guide all aspects of the ACC Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning. The membership is made up of a diverse group of adjunct and full time educators, representing workforce and academic departments as well as counselors and librarians.

Adjunct Faculty:

Full Time Faculty:

Members with Non-Faculty Designations:

Past Members

Adjunct Faculty:

  • Mario Aguilar (2015 – 16) – President of Adjunct Faculty Association, served as representative from the AFA Executive Council
  • Yolonda Holland (2014 – 15)
  • Anaka Rivera (2014 – 17)
  • Bailey Lathem (2014 – 15)
  • Jackie Childress (2014 – 17)
  • Sharon Davis (2015 – 17)
  • Vanessa Faz (2016 – 17) – President of Adjunct Faculty Association, served as representative from the AFA Executive Council
  • Skye Howell (2017 – 18)
  • Christie Carr (2014 – 18)
  • Nagham Awadallah (2015 – 18)

Full-Time Faculty:

  • Liz Alexander (2014 – 16)
  • Gail Bayeta (2014 – 16)
  • Samuel Echevarria-Cruz (2014 – 16)
  • Julie Kostka (2014 – 15)
  • Juan Molina (2014 – 15)
  • Ally Dowell (2016 – 17)
  • Suzanne McFadden (2016 – 18)
  • Wayne Butler (2015 – 18)