Faculty & Staff


Surgical Technology Faculty & Staff

For general questions about the Surgical Technology program, please contact us. For admission questions, call (512) 223-5700.

Department Chair

Kathleen Cook

Office: EVC Bldg 8000, Rm 8203.03
Phone: (512) 223-5804
Email: kcook1@austincc.edu

Assistant Department Chair

Pedro Barrera III

Office: RRC Bldg 3000, Rm 3117.07
Phone: (512) 223-0243
Email: pbarrera@austincc.edu

Administration Office

Karoline Gebert

Office: EVC Bldg 8000, Rm 8233
Phone: (512) 223-5865
Email: gebert@austincc.edu

Full-Time Faculty

Name Campus/Room Phone Email
Susan H. Diamond EVC 8281 (512) 223-5807 sdiamond@austincc.edu
Carol Hamilton RRC 3117.04 (512) 223-0238 chamilto@austincc.edu
Kimberly Hernandez EVC 8203.4 (512) 223-5801 khernan1@austincc.edu
Melanie Jecker EVC 8203.1  (512) 223-5803 melanie.jecker@austincc.edu
Jehona Morand EVC 8203.2 (512) 223-5802 jehona.morand@austincc.edu
Javier Palacios EVC 88205 (512) 223-5806 jpalaci1@austincc.edu

Search the Health Sciences Website

Surgical Technology Updates

  • Spring 2022 Special Admission Policy

    Austin Community College’s Surgical Technology Program has opened Spring 2022 admissions to include students who are currently in the process of completing prerequisite courses.

    Qualified applicants are students who have either completed the following prerequisite courses or who will complete them in the Summer and/or Fall 2021 semester(s):

    Read more
  • Free PCR Testing for Students & Faculty

    Free PCR Testing for COVID-19 is available to students and faculty at the following links:

    Read more
  • Fall 2021 Application Update

    The Surgical Technology Department will be allowing applications for Fall 2021 to be submitted with the required prerequisites in progress for Summer 2021. Please visit the Application Process page for more information.

    Read more